Tuesday, 13 January 2015

New Adult review: My Favourite Mistake by Chelsea M. Cameron

Title: My Favourite Mistake
Author: Chelsea M. Cameron
Series: My Favourite Mistake #1
Acquired: Bought
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Mira Ink
Release date: 15th February 2013

When Hunter Zaccadelli knocks on the door and reveals himself as the new roommate, Taylor Caldwell is not impressed at all. She doesn't want to be stuck with a male roommate, especially considering she'll be the one sharing with him. 

Hunter makes a bet with Taylor that if she can convince him she either loves or hates him before the end of the semester, he'll leave. She thinks it will be easy to hate him but Hunter is as charming as they come, even when he's being an ass!

Review
This was one of those books that I bought when trying to find some new New Adult novels to read as I had been reading the same authors over and over again. I didn't know what to expect at all when I went into it. 

Unfortunately, I wasn't impressed within the first few pages but as I was on a train and needed something to read, I carried on with it. To start with, the main character Taylor is a bit crazy which didn't make her the most likeable person in the world. The plot revolves around her and two other friends who live together at college in co-ed dorms. When a guy turns up at the door and says he's their new roommate she completely overreacts. I mean, she knew a guy would be allowed to live there and if she didn't like that, she shouldn't have moved in! Then, when the guy (Hunter) gets a bit too close for comfort she punches him right in the face instead of telling him to back off. That's not okay in my book especially as he didn't really do anything wrong. 

Hunter on the other hand I did like but then compared to Taylor anyone would have been nice. The thing with Hunter is that Taylor sees him as, and calls him, an ass. He's not really though. He does come across as quite cocky and a bit full of himself but he's funny with it at the same time. Even when Taylor is either beating him up a bit, calling him names and generally being mean to him, Hunter is incredibly patient. He does the nicest things like sings for her, cooks amazing dinners and has beautiful jewellery made for her. I think if anything, Hunter is probably a bit of a push over. 

The plot didn't really do a lot for me. As mentioned in the plot synopsis, Hunter makes a bet with Taylor that could result in him being homeless. Taylor only cares about herself in this situation and wants him gone. The plot really focuses on Taylor and Hunter spending more time with each other and getting to know one another. Each character has a past and the reveal of what has happened doesn't occur until a long way in the book. While I didn't really like the plot overall, I did like seeing Hunter trying to interact and win over Taylor because he was quite funny. 

So, My Favourite Mistake wasn't for me. 

Tuesday, 6 January 2015

New Adult review: You Were Mine by Abbi Glines

Title: You Were Mine 
Author: Abbi Glines
Series: Rosemary Beach #9
Acquired: Bought
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release date: 2nd December 2014

Tripp Newark left his wealthy home in Rosemary Beach when he was 18 because he thought he had to. Most people thought he was running away from his overbearing father who wanted him to take a certain path in life but really he was running from something and someone else. 

Bethy Lowry cannot get over the death of her boyfriend who died not too long ago from drowning while trying to save her as she'd had to much to drink. She's out of her depth working in the local Country Club, surrounded by the wealthy people of Rosemary Beach because she's not one of them. But, years ago she fell in love with someone she shouldn't have and that one person changed everything!

Review
Finally, I am pretty much up to date with Abbi Glines' books. It was a bad thing to have such a massive break from reading, writing reviews and blogging because I got seriously behind with some of my favourite series. It's pre-ordering for Abbi Glines' releases for now on I think. 

You Were Mine is told from both the past and the present. Bethy and Tripp met years before the present day and this book is the story of how they met and how they have come to be in the present. For most of the book it alternates between one chapter from Tripp and one from Bethy in the past and then the same again for where they are right now. I really liked this way of telling the story as it wasn't one sided at all and we get to see both character's perspectives. 

Both Bethy and Tripp have been in other books in this series but have never had a book of their own, until now. This had been one of the stories I had been looking forward to though because I hate not knowing what's going on and in the previous book I got to see Bethy not doing too well so I was desperate to read her story. A few books ago Bethy's boyfriend Jace dies trying to save her life but he ends up drowning and since then she has been spiraling out of control. 

One of the things with Bethy is that she has come across as a bit of a party animal in previous books but You Were Mine shows why she acts that way and explains the things that have happened to her. I absolutely loved reading about Bethy as a younger, quite innocent girl and to then see her transform into someone else completely. 

Tripp has to be one of my favourite characters in an Abbi Glines book. The thing with Tripp is that he always came across as genuine. He was never the bad boy that did something wrong or messed up in some way but he did have a dirty mouth on him which was something I loved. It made him that little bit more exciting and real. 

You Were Mine is a pretty emotional story as the plot focuses on Bethy and Tripp working through their problems and their past. This book made me tear up at so many different moments. Not only that but it made my heart race at a couple of different moments too. I think You Were Mine is the most well rounded of Abbi Glines' books as it has everything you could possibly want. 

I loved this book so much that I want to read it again already!

Tuesday, 30 December 2014

Tesco Finest Fresh Cream Profiteroles With Swiss Chocolate

As part of the Orchard at Tesco program I got to try something from the Tesco Finest Party food range over Christmas for free. I got sent a voucher that I could either use in store or online. Ordering online didn't work as the product I wanted was out of stock when the delivery arrived and then I found that no nearby Tesco stores had any of the desserts in stock either which wasn't very good. I did finally manage to find the Tesco Finest Fresh Cream Profiteroles With Swiss Chocolate though.
I took these to my aunt's house on Christmas Day for us all to share although there was only 8 profiteroles in the box so they didn't go very far! The profiteroles were really soft to bite in to and the fudge chocolate on the top was delicious. The box also has a chocolate cream underneath ready for dipping the profiteroles in and I thought everything went really well together. For £3 I think this was a good dessert although if entertaining a few people one box won't be enough!
*I tried this product for free through the Orchard at Tesco.

New Adult Review: One More Chance by Abbi Glines

Title:One More Chance
Author: Abbi Glines
Series: Rosemary Beach #8
Acquired: Bought
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release date: 11th September 2014

Grant Carter was once a playboy with a reputation to match but then he found a girl worth giving that up for. He loved Harlow Manning with everything he had but then he made the mistake of letting her go. 

Harlow did everything she could to stay away from bad boys because she knew they'd end up breaking her heart and she was right. She couldn't help but fall in love with Grant though but when her secret came out, she was left all alone. She desperately wants Grant back but can he handle everything that comes with her?

Review
This is the eight book in the Rosemary Beach series but also the second part of Grant and Harlow's story. Unlike in the first book, Take A Chance where the story was told from different times, this one is told from both Grant and Harlow's perspectives throughout. 

In this book Grant and Harlow are no longer together. A big secret came out at the end of Take A Chance and Grant didn't know how to handle it. Well, he handled it very badly. Both characters need to deal with the consequences of their actions and from this comes to fabulous character development. 

One of Grant's biggest fears was losing someone he loved which is why he was so scared to love Harlow in the first place. Now he has experienced losing her he knows what he needs to do. He needs to be with her no matter what but it's not that easy. Harlow isn't giving in easily and she is also very guarded. I really enjoyed the back and forth with Grant and Harlow. The passion for each other shines through in Abbi Glines' writing but the pain is also there. There were moments I was routing for them both but I could also see why some things weren't happening. 

A lot of the plot of this book revolves around Harlow's secrets and it's a hard thing to write about without giving spoilers for those who haven't read this one or the book before yet. However, I will say that One More Chance was exciting and passionate and extremely emotional. Letters are written as a way of telling the story in some parts and I was almost in tears several times. 

This wouldn't be an Abbi Glines book though without some steamy scenes between Grant and Harlow. This is not the most explicit of books in the series but it gives readers what they want in regards to Grant and Harlow. What I appreciated with this book though was some much sweeter moments. 

This review has been a hard one to write as I didn't want to give too much away. What I will say though is that Grant and Harlow's story is amazing and both books I read in one sitting each. 

Saturday, 27 December 2014

New Adult Review - Take A Chance by Abbi Glines

Title:Take A Chance
Author: Abbi Glines
Series: Rosemary Beach #7
Acquired: Bought
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release date: 27th February 2014

Harlow Manning is not your average girl; she's the daughter of a rock star. When he goes off on tour again he leaves Harlow in Rosemary Beach, the last place she wants to be. Her half-sister Nan is far from the ideal roommate but Harlow knows that everything should be okay if she can just stay out of the way. 

Grant Carter knows all too well what Nan is like and he knows he made a massive mistake when he got involved with her. When he sets his eyes on Harlow though he cannot keep away, even if she wants nothing to do with him because of his relationship with Nan. 

Grant wants the chance to redeem himself but Harlow isn't easy to win over!

Review
Like in many of Abbi Glines' books we have already met both of the main characters before in other books in this series but only briefly. I couldn't forget Grant because he had a gun pointed at his face at one point and I remember that I couldn't wait to read his story. 

Anyway, this book is a bit different from the others in this series as it's told from different points in time. Take A Chance is told from both the present and three months previously so that we can get to know how Grant and Harlow first met and what brought them to the present. Once Grant ignored Harlow and she has a hard time giving him the chance to make it up to her but the way that the story is told lets us know why Grant did certain things. 

As this is book seven in a series readers will already know of Grant's involvement with mega bitch Nan. His choices are questionable when it comes to her and I never really saw the appeal. Although their relationship has never been at the forefront of any of the previous books, you see some changes happening slowly over the last couple of books in the series and I was hopeful that he wouldn't end up with Nan. 

Harlow is this really sweet but shy girl who doesn't want to be a big part of her rock star dad's celebrity lifestyle. She is nothing like her half-sister. She is pretty sheltered when it comes to life experiences and would rather be curled up with a good book. However, she is far from a push over which is something I loved about her. She will pull anyone up on something when they're wrong or out of line which was great!

I have to say that the plot of Take A Chance is one of the best from Abbi Glines so far. Both Grant and Harlow have a lot to learn about themselves and it's not just each other that helps them do that. Grant has some really deep fears and Harlow is keeping some pretty epic secrets. Each character has a past and they are quite heavily involved in the story. Not only does this book have a lot going on but it is exciting, has location changes and it pretty damn steamy. As a New Adult book this one has strong language and scenes of a sexual nature. 

Take A Chance has a fantastic, jaw dropping cliff-hanger which makes you want to pick up the next book immediately. Abbi Glines' writing is addictive. 

Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Deeper by Robin York

Title: Deeper
Author: Robin York
Series: Caroline and York #1
Acquired: Bought
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Piatkus
Release date: 6th March 2014

Caroline Piasecki was always the good girl. Well, she was until her ex-boyfriend posted sex pictures online and completely ruined her reputation. Then, one day someone punches her ex in the face and it's the person she least expected to stick up for her. 

West Leavitt swore to himself to stay away from Caroline from the minute he met her but when he punches her ex, she seems to always be around. They are definitely not friends though as West keeps telling himself. But, the more time they spend with one another they harder it is to deny their attraction to each other. 

Review
When I asked on the blog for recommendations for New Adult books to read this title came up a few times so I knew I had to get it. 

Deeper focuses on the subject of revenge porn, something I have never read about in a book before. Caroline and her boyfriend Nate had been together for a few years but when they broke up he decided to post private pictures of her all over the internet. Caroline is used to being a good girl and her reputation is ruined because of what Nate did. Not only that but she can't get rid of the voices in her head which repeat all of the nasty comments written online about her. In short, she's a mess and doesn't know how to cope. 

It's hard not to feel for Caroline. I wouldn't wish something like this on my worst enemy. Deeper shows what it is like for Caroline not only immediately after but what it will be like for the rest of her life. She wonders who at college has seen the pictures of her, if future employers will Google her name and find the pictures online. Caroline realises that trusting Nate may have ruined her entire life. Quite explicit language is used to show how serious the situation is but I think it was needed in this case. Examples are used of what people have said about Caroline online. 

I had to applaud Caroline for the way in which she acted. Even though she was a mess inside and going crazy with her own thoughts she battled on. She went to classes and tried to carry on as normally as she possibly could. I'm not sure if I would have had the strength to do that. I would have wanted to hide away and never see anyone again. When West Leavitt punches Nate in the face she knows she has to talk to him to say thank you but since she met him, she's been trying to keep her distance. 

West is also trying to stay away from Caroline but he just can't help himself when Nate pushes too far. West has a lot going on in his life and he doesn't want a complication that he can't keep. He and Caroline become, well, not friends because he doesn't want a friend. He seems to be the only person Caroline can open up to and be herself around and he can't tell her no. West is a very complex character and I loved learning more about him and why he didn't think he and Caroline should be friends. 

As West and Caroline do slowly become friends their personalities really come out and develop over the course of the book. They spend a lot of time getting to know each other which is something I always like to see. Both characters are attracted to one another to begin with but this is no story where they fall in love immediately and I was thankful for that. Caroline certainly needed someone like West to help her realise that what happened to her wasn't her fault and to help her gain more confidence. 

Another reason why I loved Deeper was because it was funny. There were so many different parts that made me giggle out loud. Although the plot focuses on a really serious topic Robin York manages to lighten it up a bit within Caroline and West's friendship. They are so cute together it's unreal. West I ended up falling for completely in this book and he's by far one of my favourite male characters in a New Adult novel to date. 

No wonder people recommended this one to me. Deeper is not only an amazing read but a very important one as well. 

To find out more you can go to http://www.endrevengeporn.org/

Monday, 22 December 2014

Travelling, trains, home and reading

Today John and I are heading back to my hometown of Grimsby to spend Christmas with my family. We spent last year here in Norfolk and the year before in Nottingham where I was at university. I'm really looking forward to going home this year as it's been a long time since I've had a Christmas there. I think it must have been at least four years now!

The only bad thing about going home for Christmas is the travelling. The train journey is about 5 and a half hours each way so that's 11 hours that will be spent on trains this week. I do normally end up sleeping on train journeys but this one has a lot of different changes so it's not 5 and a half hours on the same train. 


I really hope to get some good reading in this week and I have a few books to get on with. John has bought me some for Christmas which I've had early (due to us not wanting to take presents home with us just to bring them back) and I'm really excited to read them. They're all New Adult books and I'm really enjoying the genre at the moment even if I am reading the same authors again and again. 

Have a wonderful Christmas everyone!