Monday, 21 April 2014

The Temptation of Lila and Ethan

About the book
The Temptation of Lila and Ethan is a new adult book by Jessica Sorensen. It was published by Sphere on 8th May 2014 and the book is 320 pages long. I received an e-book for review through NetGalley.

Plot Synopsis
Lila has always been a well behaved girl who likes preppy boys and expensive clothes. Since her best friend Ella introduced her to Ethan though, she hasn’t been able to stop thinking about him but he’s exactly the opposite of the guys she normally goes for. Ethan has tattoos and is definitely a bad boy. He has never had trouble with the girls and can normally have his pick of them but he’s never had anyone like Lila.

Ethan and Lila seem to be as different as they come, but they’re drawn to one another for multiple reasons. After becoming really good friends, they have a strong friendship line drawn between them but do they both secretly want more? Will Ethan and Lila be able to get over their different upbringings and the secrets each of them fight to keep?

What I thought
The Temptation of Lila and Ethan is part of the ‘Secret’ series by Jessica Sorensen and as a lover of the other books, I couldn’t wait for this one. There have been brief moments between Lila and Ethan before now and I had always hoped something would happen with them well before I knew they were getting their own book.

Protagonists Lila and Ethan come from completely different worlds. Ethan has had to struggle along while Lila comes from a wealthy family and her tastes reflect her upbringing. However, when Ella (from the other books) introduces the two, they instantly hit it off and become great friends. In this book, it was great to see how they both got along without Ella and Micha around. Lila depends on Ethan quite a lot to save her when she’s in trouble and even though he’s got a bad boy reputation, he’s always there to save her.

Lila is the kind of girl who has to live by a certain set of rules in order to function properly. Unfortunately, these come from her uncaring parents who only want her to not make a fool of herself and the family. It was quite heart-breaking to read about how Lila was treated by her parents and how cold hearted they were towards her. Luckily though, Lila’s parents aren’t around as she’s moved from California to Las Vegas. Now that she’s free though, Lila acts out as she tries to figure out who she really is.

Over the course of the book, Lila and Ethan grow much closer as friends as secrets begin to come out. Ethan is the kind of guy who doesn’t care what other people think of him, he’s poor and just enjoys his life the way it is. He’s such a rock for Lila even when she’s a complete bitch towards him. Even though Ethan has a bit of a rough exterior, he is so sweet and lovely deep down. I couldn’t help but absolutely fall in love with him.

Jessica Sorensen has such a talent for writing about broken characters but in a way that makes the reader care for them and hope that everything works out. Parts of this book were pretty hard to read due to the subject matter but I just couldn’t help but to carry on. Sorensen’s writing is addictive, along with her characters. I absolutely loved this book.  

Wednesday, 16 April 2014

Brooklyn Girls: Angie by Gemma Burgess

About the book
Brooklyn Girls: Angie (Aka Love and Chaos) is a young/ new adult novel by Gemma Burgess. The book was published by Quercus on 6th March and is 320 pages long. I received an e-book for review through NetGalley.

Synopsis
Angie James lives in Brooklyn, New York and her life is supposed to be amazing. Things didn’t quite turn out as planned though. She doesn’t have a job, she doesn’t have a man and she doesn’t really have much else apart from her friends that she lives with. After a party goes terribly wrong, Angie is forced to look seriously at her life and where she is going. Luckily for her, mysterious boat boy Sam turns up at the right time and helps her figure everything out. But, things aren’t exactly plain sailing and Angie needs to sort her life out for herself and make some really important decisions.

What I thought
When I read the first book in this series, Brooklyn Girls, I wasn’t so sure about the rest of the series. The language in the first book was a little off and it bugged me from time to time. But, when I saw this book come up on NetGalley I figured I would give the series a second chance… and I’m glad I did.

The first book focused on Pia whereas this book focuses on Angie, one of Pia’s friends. Angie is a bit of a wild child and really likes partying hard. Her life is a complete mess and nothing at all like she imagined it to be. She doesn’t have a job, her parents are getting a divorce and she has no idea what she’s doing. Angie knows that she’s unhappy but can’t seem to break out of her usual habits… until one party goes really wrong and everyone has the wrong idea about her.

Angie was a bit of a hard character to figure out. At times I wanted to slap her for being such an idiot and not getting herself out of the mess she got herself into but at other times, I did feel sorry for her. I think she was acting out a lot of the time because she didn’t know what else to do. Angie really puts on a front around other people, acting extremely confident and like she knows exactly what she is doing but it was nice for readers to be able to see a much softer side to her. We are able to see that she really does want to make something of herself and sort herself out.

Even though Angie’s life is spiralling out of control, there is one positive aspect and one that is unexpected. In the middle of a crazy time, Angie meets mysterious boat boy, Sam. They instantly hit it off and become really good friends. Angie feels like she can tell Sam anything and he really does help her get her life sorted a little bit. I think a lot of this was having something solid and constant in her life compared with the craziness that came before. Friendship is a really big theme in this series and it was nice to see that it wasn’t all about the girls’ friendships but Angie’s friendship with Sam as well. There is also a slow burning romance but that isn’t the main point of the story.

As I said earlier, the language used really bugged me throughout the first book as there were Britishisms thrown in all over the place. Luckily, the writing was so much better in this book and I couldn’t pick out anything that was out of place at all. The whole story flowed really well and there were now awkward moments of pages wasted. There is quite a lot going on in this book as Angie has quite a wild lifestyle so it is exciting the whole way through as well.


I am so happy to say that I really enjoyed this book. We get to know more about the girls that Angie lives with as well and it makes me want to read the next book about Coco so much more! 

Friday, 28 March 2014

Exciting news from Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

This is a bit different for me at the moment but I couldn't help but posting about some extremely exciting news. The pair have a new series coming out later in the year (September) called Magisterium. What a fantastic name! The first book will be called The Iron Trial and you can see the synopsis below.

About Magisterium Book 1: The Iron Trial 
Callum Hunt has grown up knowing three rules by heart. Never trust a magician. Never pass a test a magician gives you. And never let a magician take you to the Magisterium. Callum is about to break all the rules. And when he does, his life will change in ways he can’t possibly imagine. 

The Magisterium series is a five-book series of fantasy novels, one book for each year of Callum’s life as he struggles between the forces of good and evil, and discovers his true destiny.

The authors have spoken about the new series in a video which you can also see below!



Exciting right!? I for one cannot wait to read the new series. 

Monday, 10 March 2014

Salvation by Noelle Adams

About the book
Salvation is a new adult book by Noelle Adams. The book was published on Kindle on 20th February and it is 262 pages long. I received an ebook for review through NetGalley.

Synopsis
Diana isn’t much different from any other girl. She lives in the city working in her dream job and enjoys what she does. Nothing about her stood out and nothing should have made her a target. But, her dad is extremely wealthy and one day she finds herself being kidnapped on the street, being forced into the trunk of a car and waking up in a strange room in a house owned by an Albanian gang.

There is someone else in the room with her but unfortunately, is unable to save her before the gang rape her and leave her. Diana is left to deal with the consequences of the kidnapping with very little hope of ever getting back to normal.

What I thought
Noelle Adams doesn’t mess around with getting right into this book. We barely get to meet protagonist Diana before she’s whisked away in a car by an Albanian gang and hidden away somewhere. As much as I liked the beginning, as it was exciting and tense, I wished that we’d gotten to know Diana a little better at least. Before the kidnapping, she stated that she was a certain type of person but we never got to know her like that which was unfortunate and a bit disappointing.

During her kidnapping, Diana meets Gideon, the other person in the room with her. Quickly he states that he’s not part of the gang, although her certainly looks like one but instead he’s an undercover cop who got caught. He knows what the gang are likely to do to Diana and warns her. I didn’t really know what to make of Gideon at first but he quickly proves that he really does want to help and takes quite a lot before realising he can’t actually help the situation or save Diana from what is about to happen.

After the kidnapping and rape, Diana is a complete mess. She can’t cope with life and finds it far too hard to go back to work and her old apartment. This is where she starts talking about how much she’s changed but as we didn’t get to know the old Diana, it is hard to tell just how much everything had an impact on her. However, although we don’t get to know the old Diana, we get to know the new and changed Diana really well. The kidnapping and rape had such a massive effect on her life and that was clear to see. She couldn’t cope. Didn’t want to cope.

Although the majority of the plot focuses on Diana and what she is going through, I was much more interested in Gideon. He certainly didn’t have it easy after everything that happened and he constantly beats himself up for not being able to save Diana from the gang. He had such a hard time forgiving himself for what happened to her and desperately wanted to make up for that. While it did come across as trying to fix her at times, he was only doing what he thought was right but you could also see how much he actually cared about her too.

There is no clear time frame in Salvation and I would have liked to have known what the timescale was over the course of the plot. I could never tell how long had passed from one thing to another and certainly not from the beginning to the end. It was hard to believe some of the things that happened as it could have been a couple of weeks since the kidnapping or it could have been months. However, over however long the book is set, both Diana and Gideon change a hell of a lot and it was great to see such good character development.


Salvation is a pretty tough read at times as it deals with some really serious issues but it is also an emotional and intense read. I really enjoyed this one even with the problems. 

Thursday, 6 March 2014

Anything to Have You by Paige Harbison

About the book
Anything to Have You is a young adult book by Paige Harbison. The book was published by Mira Ink on 7th February and the book is 368 pages long. I received an e-book for review through NetGalley.

Synopsis
Natalie and Brooke and been friends since they can remember and always have each other’s backs. Although they’re best friends, they have completely different personalities. Natalie is the shy, quiet one who is college bound while Brooke is the life and soul of the party.

Natalie finally gives in and goes with Brooke to a party but she gets drunk, wakes up next to Brooke’s boyfriend and cannot remember what happened. Both girls question what really happened at the party that night and it could ruin everything they’ve ever had.

What I thought
Anything to Have You is told through a dual narrative of best friends Natalie and Brooke. Not only do they both tell the story but the time jumps between their Junior and Senior years of high school. To start with, I didn’t really get on with the way in which the story was told. I would have much preferred to have a background given on Natalie and Brooke’s friendship and then for the plot to run smoothly instead. I didn’t mind both of them telling the story but the time jumps broke everything up too much.

As protagonists go, Natalie was sweet enough, if a bit bland. She was quite straight-laced and didn’t party and get drunk like her best friend did. Natalie’s only vice seemed to be Brooke’s boyfriend, Aiden. It was clear from early on that she had a massive crush on him and wanted him first but never acted on it on account of Brooke. She secretly hates the way that Aiden is treated by Brooke but never says anything.

Brooke was actually really, really annoying. She is the girl who seems to have everything but wants anything else instead. She isn’t happy with her boyfriend most of the time and always complains that she wants more. Honestly, I felt like she deserved the bad hands she was dealt in this book because of the way she acted most of the time. As she tells part of the story, I found myself wanting more of Natalie instead of Brooke.

As plots go, this one isn’t anything special. Anything to Have You tells the done too many times story of friends fighting over a boy and it doesn’t really bring in anything new. Natalie finally gives in and goes to a party, gets wasted and wakes up next to a boy… Aiden. Aiden knows exactly what happened but Natalie can’t remember anything. The problem for me was that she didn’t really seem to care, although she clearly knew that she’d had sex and couldn’t remember it. Her actions didn’t fit with her personality at all.


Although the majority of the book bugged me, Paige Harbison really did try in parts with this one. There are times when the plot goes to darker, scarier places and it goes much deeper than just a broken friendship. However, some of the events didn’t quite fit with the rest of the book and that was extremely unfortunate. This book had promise that it didn’t quite live up to. 

Monday, 3 March 2014

Down London Road by Samantha Young

About the book
Down London Road is the second new adult book in the ‘On Dublin Street’ series by Samantha Young. The book was published by Penguin on 9th May 2013 and the book is 464 pages long.

Synopsis
Johanna has always been the one to take care of her family and especially her younger brother Cole. Her father is nowhere to be seen and her mother an alcoholic so she’s been acting like Cole’s mother for as long as she can remember. God knows where they would be without her. Jo isn’t rich though and she makes her money working two jobs and dating men with money, as shallow as that sounds, it works.

Even with a boyfriend she actually really likes and takes care of her, she cannot deny the attraction to new bartender Cameron. Her stomach flips whenever she sees him and she’s definitely tempted but knows she has to put her family’s needs first. If it wasn’t hard enough working that close to someone you’re attracted to and can’t have, it gets even harder when Cameron moves downstairs from Jo and begins to break down every single wall she’s every built up!

What I thought
On Dublin Street was the first book in this new adult series and I couldn’t wait for the second instalment. Although it is in the same series, the book follows different protagonists from the first book.

Johanna has a pretty tough life. Her mother is an alcoholic who can’t take care of herself let alone Johanna and her younger brother Cole so it is up to Jo to pay the bills and the feed everyone. Jo had to leave school in order to support her family so she’s determined that Cole will turn out better; everything she does is with him in mind. In On Dublin Street, we get snippets of Jo’s character and I have to say, I wasn’t impressed at first. She openly states that she dates men with money and I didn’t like her for it. However, Down London Road gives a lot more insight into Jo’s life and the reasons for what she does. I had to admire her for working so hard and supporting her family, even when it wasn’t her responsibility.

Cameron is the love interest in this book and Jo meets him at an art showing that she attends with her boyfriend. Cameron comes across as a complete arse to begin with and although Jo is quickly attracted to him, she also cannot stand him! He also judged her on first appearances and wasn’t afraid to show his dislike for the way she lived her life. It isn’t until Cam begins to work with Jo that he realises that he was wrong in judging her and can sense something much deeper is going on. It is only by accident that he finds out what is really going on in her life. Even though he’s pretty horrible to Jo to begin with, you can easily see the attraction on his side and the sexual tension between the two.

As the plot unfolds and Jo and Cam become quite close friends (as he moves in downstairs), the secrets come out slowly. Cam is there for Jo whenever she needs him, even if she doesn’t want to have to turn to him. Cam becomes a really close friend to Cole also and that was such a lovely friendship to see. As Cole doesn’t have a father figure in his life, Cam becomes the friend he can talk guy stuff with and also someone to turn to when things go wrong at home. Not only do we see a friendship blossom between Cam, Cole and Jo but there is the wonderful sister/ brother relationship to love! Jo and Cole are extremely close and really look out for one another, even though Cole is younger than Jo.

The plot of this book does not only surround the building romance between Jo and Cam but the lives of each character. There are some really surprising twists and turns throughout and most of them extremely exciting. I loved how dramatic and intense the story was and it kept me gripped the whole way through. Although not completely about the romance, that definitely helped. Jo and Cam have a quite sweet relationship once it gets going but is also explosive once it gets into the bedroom. I really enjoyed the contrast between soft and sweet and hard and intense!


Down London Road was actually better than On Dublin Street for me and I can’t wait to read whatever Samantha Young does next. 

Monday, 24 February 2014

Twisted Perfection by Abbi Glines

About the book
Twisted Perfection is the first book in the new adult Perfection series by Abbi Glines. It is also part of the Rosemary Beach series too, but a spin off story. The book was published on 29th August 2013 by Simon and Schuster and the book is 272 pages long.

Synopsis
Della Sloane is desperate to break free from her life at home. She’s desperate for a new life, one where she can be someone completely new and someone who doesn’t share her secrets with anyone. However, she soon learns that she is incapable of even pumping her own gas. Luckily, sexy Woods Kerrington is there to help out. What should have been a brief meeting turned into something much more.

Woods really isn’t into fragile girls but when he meets Della, he can’t keep his eyes off of her. All he wants is one night with her and that’s what he gets. But, Woods can’t stop thinking about Della once they go their separate ways even though he isn’t exactly single. Luckily, or unluckily, Della comes crashing back into his life with a bang!

What I thought
Abbi Glines writes books that I just cannot put down. I had been looking forward to this one for a while. Although part of its own series, it also runs in with Fallen Too Far and the books that goes along with that story. So, it can be read on its own but it goes better with the other books as there are characters running through both series.

At the beginning of the book, Della is about to head off on a road trip after her best friend gets married. She’s never been anywhere on her own and her best friends hands over the keys to her car and tells Della to go and find herself. Unfortunately though, Della doesn’t have much experience in the world and soon finds that she doesn’t even know how to put gas into the car. This is where she meets Woods and as she’s trying to figure out who she is, she decides she can have a wild night with this guy and not worry about it afterwards.

I really liked Della from the very beginning. It’s clear that she’s been through something quite bad in her life but that isn’t expanded upon until later in the book. Snippets of her past are revealed and I couldn’t help but feel for the girl. She’s such a nice character to read about too though as she tries to make the best out of a bad situation and tries not to dwell on things too much.

Woods is a character who I had read about already in another Abbi Glines book so I already had a bit of a soft spot for him. He’s set to take over the country club one day but is ruled by his father’s decisions so feels like he is never really being himself. When he meets Della and is able to help her out, he cannot believe his luck when she openly suggests she wants a wild one night stand with him. He obviously doesn’t refuse. When she leaves though, Woods cannot stop thinking about her, even weeks later.

Woods and Della were an explosive coupling and by far one of my favourite couples in any of Abbi Glines’ books. The chemistry between them is fantastic and I couldn’t get enough of them both. There is a lot of character development for the both of them as they get to know each other properly and begin to learn to trust one another. One of the best parts of this book for me was the fact that they were off limits to one another so they had to find ways around that.

Twisted Perfection also has a great plot, as well as a really good romance. The plot has so many twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. These twists made reading this book really exciting and the reason that I couldn’t put it down. There is also such an amazing ending to this book as it leaves the story on a massive cliff-hanger. It didn’t take me long to get the second book though so I could find out what happened next.

Twisted Perfection has been one of my favourite Abbi Glines books to date!


 About the book
Twisted Perfection is the first book in the new adult Perfection series by Abbi Glines. It is also part of the Rosemary Beach series too, but a spin off story. The book was published on 29th August 2013 by Simon and Schuster and the book is 272 pages long.

Synopsis
Della Sloane is desperate to break free from her life at home. She’s desperate for a new life, one where she can be someone completely new and someone who doesn’t share her secrets with anyone. However, she soon learns that she is incapable of even pumping her own gas. Luckily, sexy Woods Kerrington is there to help out. What should have been a brief meeting turned into something much more.

Woods really isn’t into fragile girls but when he meets Della, he can’t keep his eyes off of her. All he wants is one night with her and that’s what he gets. But, Woods can’t stop thinking about Della once they go their separate ways even though he isn’t exactly single. Luckily, or unluckily, Della comes crashing back into his life with a bang!

What I thought
Abbi Glines writes books that I just cannot put down. I had been looking forward to this one for a while. Although part of its own series, it also runs in with Fallen Too Far and the books that goes along with that story. So, it can be read on its own but it goes better with the other books as there are characters running through both series.

At the beginning of the book, Della is about to head off on a road trip after her best friend gets married. She’s never been anywhere on her own and her best friends hands over the keys to her car and tells Della to go and find herself. Unfortunately though, Della doesn’t have much experience in the world and soon finds that she doesn’t even know how to put gas into the car. This is where she meets Woods and as she’s trying to figure out who she is, she decides she can have a wild night with this guy and not worry about it afterwards.

I really liked Della from the very beginning. It’s clear that she’s been through something quite bad in her life but that isn’t expanded upon until later in the book. Snippets of her past are revealed and I couldn’t help but feel for the girl. She’s such a nice character to read about too though as she tries to make the best out of a bad situation and tries not to dwell on things too much.

Woods is a character who I had read about already in another Abbi Glines book so I already had a bit of a soft spot for him. He’s set to take over the country club one day but is ruled by his father’s decisions so feels like he is never really being himself. When he meets Della and is able to help her out, he cannot believe his luck when she openly suggests she wants a wild one night stand with him. He obviously doesn’t refuse. When she leaves though, Woods cannot stop thinking about her, even weeks later.

Woods and Della were an explosive coupling and by far one of my favourite couples in any of Abbi Glines’ books. The chemistry between them is fantastic and I couldn’t get enough of them both. There is a lot of character development for the both of them as they get to know each other properly and begin to learn to trust one another. One of the best parts of this book for me was the fact that they were off limits to one another so they had to find ways around that.

Twisted Perfection also has a great plot, as well as a really good romance. The plot has so many twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. These twists made reading this book really exciting and the reason that I couldn’t put it down. There is also such an amazing ending to this book as it leaves the story on a massive cliff-hanger. It didn’t take me long to get the second book though so I could find out what happened next.

Twisted Perfection has been one of my favourite Abbi Glines books to date!