Friday, 3 May 2013

With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

About the book
With All My Soul is the seventh and final book in the Soul Screamers series by Rachel Vincent. The book was released on 5th April by Mira Ink and it is 336 pages long.

Plot Synopsis
Ever since Kaylee Cavanaugh came into her banshee powers, screaming for the souls of the dead, her life has been hell. Kaylee recently died and is now undead, still being forced to do normal things like going to school and deal with her ex-boyfriend. Now, she’s had enough of being hounded by hellions from the Netherworld and wants a life as normal and peaceful as it can get, considering she’s already dead.

Everyone Kaylee knows and loves is in danger because the hellion Avari will not stop until he has has. She must figure out a way to save everyone without giving up the one thing she needs most – her soul.

What I thought
This series has been one of my favourites in the young adult genre and I’m now really sad to be seeing it end. After following Kaylee and her friends for 6 books up until this point, I couldn’t wait to see how everything ended for them all. As this is the last book in the series, there may be spoilers for the previous books.

Kaylee has spent most of her time as a banshee escaping from the hellion of greed, Avari. For some reason, he wants her and her soul to torment for the rest of time and won’t stop until he has what he wants. This means him hurting many of her close friends and family, with them all fighting to stay alive a lot of the time. No matter what they try though, Avari seems unstoppable. This final book focuses on Kaylee trying to find a way to protect all of her friends without their being any more casualties. Due to the nature of the plot, it is extremely exciting. There is plenty going on in each chapter and so many twists and turns.

Throughout the whole series, I have loved Kaylee as a character and the protagonist. Even though she has been through so much, including dying herself, she is never selfish. Kaylee is always on the lookout for her friends and family, wanting to do what she thinks is best to keep them safe and out of harm’s way. While this doesn’t always go down too well, I loved her determination and strength to get things done. This aspect of Kaylee also shows just how much her friends and family mean to her. She has done some pretty crazy things to keep them alive.

Due to Avari threatening everyone around her, just to get what he wants, Kaylee definitely sees red in this book. While she has been strong willed and determined up until now, I have never seen her so angry and hell-bent on making things right. The anger absolutely pours out of her and I thought it made her a better character. Speaking of anger, while Avari is the hellion of greed, we get to meet Ira in this book who is the hellion of wrath. He takes great pleasure in Kaylee’s new anger and uses it against her at times. He is also so much creepier than Avari in my eyes due to some of the things he does. Urgh is all I can say about him.

With All My Soul has a fantastic mix of excitement and emotion. Rachel Vincent has done a wonderful job with the whole series but this book is by far my favourite even though it is the last book. Within this one, there are so many loose ends tied up and questions answered. Vincent has made sure that this book is one hell of an emotional ride. Just when you think you know what is going to happen – BAM – a big shock comes in. I laughed at certain parts, I was angry with Kaylee for a large chunk of the book and I also had a little cry as well.

I couldn’t put this book down and cannot recommend the series highly enough! 

1 comment: